German Cancer Research Center in the Helmholtz Association - Center for Molecular Biology in the University of Heidelberg

About us

The DKFZ-ZMBH-Alliance is a strategic alliance of the Research Program Cell and Tumor Biology of the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ, member of the Helmholtz Association) and the Center for Molecular Biology of the Ruprecht-Karls-University of Heidelberg (ZMBH) with a main focus on basic research in the area of molecular life sciences. This concept combines advantages of both institutions and creates a particularly attractive research environment.

Currently 30 research groups with an international staff of more than 400 collaborate in the DKFZ-ZMBH Alliance. The Alliance offers its roughly 200 PhD students and 150 post-doctoral fellows and senior scientists a unique interdisciplinary research landscape at the interface of molecular, cell and tumor biology. The scientific focus lies on the elucidation of molecular processes contributing to biogenesis and maintenance as well as to degeneration and transformation of cells. The spectrum of research ranges from the atomic scale to the analysis of biological processes in organisms and diseases.

The Alliance is an essential element of the Concept of Excellence of the University of Heidelberg. Many of Principal Investigators are also members of the CellNetworks Cluster of Excellence and the HBIGS Graduate School, which were established thanks to the funding by the Initiative of Excellence. Moreover, the Alliance is centrally embedded in the Molecular Life Sciences Campus of Heidelberg. There are close contacts to the institutes of the Faculty of Biological Sciences and other academic centers, such as the Biochemistry Center and BioQuant, the Medical School (University Hospital, National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT) as well as the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) and the Max Planck Institute for Medical Research.

Our Mission

  1. Establishment of an international inspiring center of excellence in molecular, cellular life sciences
  2. Recruiting international scientists outstanding in their field to Heidelberg
  3. Teaching, training, and individual career planning for undergraduate and graduate students and post-doctoral fellows and senior scientists during their various career stages
  4. Possibilities for establishing scientifically independent junior research groups
  5. Providing optimal infrastructure and administrative support for scientists in order to provide room for innovative, creative, and interdisciplinary research
  6. Establishment of a basis for the translation of basic research results to medicine with a main focus on aging and cancer
  7. Support in technology transfer and translation of results into clinical research and applications

The three research programs of the DKFZ-ZMBH-Alliance are:

Alliance Directorate

Prof. Angelika Amon

Prof. Angelika Amon

Prof. Bernd Bukau

Co-Director (ZMBH)

 

Prof. Andreas Trumpp

Co-Director (DKFZ)

 

Prof. Webster Cavenee

Prof. Webster Cavenee

Prof. Sylvia Erhardt

 

Prof. Frauke Melchior

 

Prof. Ivan Dikic

Prof. Ivan Dikic

Prof. Peter Angel

 

Prof. Frank Lyko

Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft - Zentrum für Molekulare Biologie der Universität Heidelberg

Über uns

Die DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz ist eine strategische Kooperation des Forschungsschwerpunktes Zell- und Tumorbiologie des Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrums (DKFZ; Mitglied der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft Deutscher Forschungszentren) und des Zentrums für Molekulare Biologie der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg (ZMBH) mit dem Schwerpunkt auf der Grundlagenforschung im Bereich der molekularen und zellulären Lebenswissenschaften. Dieses Konzept verbindet die Stärken beider Institutionen und schafft eine besonders attraktive Forschungsumgebung.

In der DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz arbeiten derzeit 30 Forschungsgruppen mit insgesamt über 400 Mitarbeitern aus aller Welt zusammen. Für die ca. 200 Doktoranden und 150 promovierten Wissenschaftler bietet die Allianz eine einzigartige interdisziplinäre Forschungsumgebung an der Schnittstelle von Molekular-, Zell- und Tumorbiologie. Im wissenschaftlichen Fokus steht das Verständnis grundlegender molekularer Prozesse, die zur Biogenese und Erhaltung sowie zur Degeneration und Entartung von Zellen beitragen. Das Spektrum der Forschung beginnt dabei im atomaren Bereich und reicht bis zur Untersuchung von biologischen Vorgängen in Organismen und Krankheitsbekämpfung.

Die DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz ist ein wesentliches Element des Exzellenzkonzepts der Universität Heidelberg und ein neues Modell der Zusammenarbeit zwischen einem Mitglied der Gemeinschaft der Helmholtz-Großforschungszentren (DKFZ) und einer universitären Einrichtung. Viele Forschungsgruppen sind Teil des Exzellenzclusters Zelluläre Netzwerke (CellNetworks) und der HBIGS-Graduiertenschule, die dank der Förderung durch die Exzellenzinitiative entstanden sind sowie der Helmholtz-Graduiertenschule für Krebsforschung. Die Allianz ist zudem zentral in den Heidelberger Campus der molekularen Lebenswissenschaften eingebettet. Enge Kontakte bestehen zu den Einrichtungen der Fakultät für Biowissenschaften und weiteren universitären Zentren, wie dem Biochemiezentrum und dem BioQuant, der Medizin (Universitätsklinikum, Nationales Centrum für Tumorerkrankungen (NCT) sowie dem “European Molecular Biology Laboratory“ (EMBL) und dem Max-Planck-Institut für medizinische Forschung.

Unsere Mission

  1. Aufbau eines international Impuls gebenden Exzellenzzentrums in den molekularen und zellulären Lebenswissenschaften
  2. Rekrutierung von internationalen Spitzenkräften an den Standort Heidelberg
  3. Ausbildung, Training und individuelle Karriereförderung von Studenten, Doktoranden und promovierten Wissenschaftlern auf allen Karrierestufen
  4. Möglichkeiten zur Etablierung von wissenschaftlich unabhängigen Nachwuchsgruppen
  5. Bereitstellung einer optimalen Infrastruktur und administrativen Unterstützung der Wissenschaftler, um Raum für innovative, kreative und interdisziplinäre Forschung zu schaffen
  6. Schaffung einer Basis für die Translation von Forschungsergebnissen in die Medizin, insbesondere auf den Gebieten Krebs und Altern
  7. Unterstützung beim Technologietransfer und bei der Translation der gewonnenen Erkenntnisse in die klinische Forschung und Anwendung

Die drei Forschungsprogramme der DKFZ-ZMBH-Allianz sind:

Allianz Direktorium

Prof. Angelika Amon

Prof. Angelika Amon

Prof. Bernd Bukau

Co-Direktor (ZMBH)

 

Prof. Andreas Trumpp

Co-Direktor (DKFZ)

 

Prof. Webster Cavenee

Prof. Webster Cavenee

Prof. Sylvia Erhardt

 

Prof. Frauke Melchior

 

Prof. Ivan Dikic

Prof. Ivan Dikic

Prof. Peter Angel

 

Prof. Frank Lyko